Upcoming Events

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

New Website Events Banner 1

 Stay up-to-date about upcoming programs by joining our e-mail list! Sign up here.

 

JUNE 2020

Female Justice: The Disappearance of Yda Hillis Addis - VIRTUAL PROGRAM
Sunday, June 7, 2 to 3:30 p.m.
Free. Click HERE to reserve your spot on Zoom.

Paper Preservation Workshop - VIRTUAL PROGRAM
Saturday, June 13, 10 to 11:30 a.m.
Free. Click HERE to reserve your spot on Zoom.

Fiction Book Club - Then it got worse..., Session 1 of 3 - VIRTUAL MEETING
Wednesday, June 17, 6 to 8 p.m.
Free. Click HERE to join our mailing list and reserve your spot on Zoom.

Ragtime, Jazz, & Swing : Early 20th Century Dance & Society - VIRTUAL PROGRAM
Sunday, June 21, 2 to 3:30 p.m.
Free. Click HERE to reserve your spot on Zoom.

Black Leaders of Leisure in the American West in the Struggle for Freedom during the Jim Crow Era: The Implications of their Stories for Our Lives Today - VIRTUAL PROGRAM
Sunday, June 28, 2 to 3:30p.m.
Free. Click HERE to reserve your spot on Zoom.

 

JULY 2020

Exploring Women's Rights in Los Angeles - VIRTUAL PROGRAM
Sunday, July 12, 2 to 3:30 p.m.
Free. Click HERE to reserve your spot on Zoom. 

Fiction Book Club - Then it got worse..., Session 2 of 3
Wednesday, July 15, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended. Click HERE to reserve your spot.

 

AUGUST 2020

Female Justice: The Justifiable Homicide of Louis Delmon
Sunday, August 9, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended. 

Fiction Book Club - Then it got worse..., Session 3 of 3
Wednesday, August 19, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Click HERE to reserve your spot.

 

SEPTEMBER 2020

It's All Relative: Researching Family History, Session 1 of 2
Saturday, September 5, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Advance registration is recommended.

It's All Relative: Researching Family History , Session 2 of 2
Saturday, September 19, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended.

Nonfiction Book Club - Suffrage and Women's Rights, Session 1 of 3
Friday, September 25, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended.

 

OCTOBER 2020

Ticket to the Twenties
Saturday & Sunday, October 3 & 4, 2 to 6 p.m. both days
Free; bring spending money for food & shopping!

Female Justice: Clara Phillips
Sunday, October 18, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended.

Fiction Book Club - Literature of the Progressive Era, Session 1 of 3
Wednesday, October 21, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended. Click HERE to reserve your spot.

Sorrowful Soirée
Sunday, October 25, 2 to 5 p.m.
Free; traditional picnics welcome.

Nonfiction Book Club - Suffrage and Women's Rights, Session 2 of 3
Friday, October 30, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Click HERE to reserve your spot.

 

NOVEMBER 2020

Behind-the-Scenes Tours
Saturday & Sunday, November 7 & 8; tours depart at 1, 2, 3, and 4 p.m.
Free; space is limited and available first-come, first-served.

Christmas Unwrapped: The Stories Behind the Homestead's Holiday Exhibit
Saturday, November 14; tours depart at 12 (Spanish), 1, 2, 3, and 4 p.m.
Free; space is limited and available first-come, first-served.

Fiction Book Club - Literature of the Progressive Era, Session 2 of 3
Wednesday, November 18, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Click HERE to reserve your spot.

 

DECEMBER 2020

Nonfiction Book Club - Suffrage and Women's Rights, Session 3 of 3
Friday, December 4, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended.

Fiction Book Club - Literature of the Progressive Era, Session 3 of 3
Wednesday, December 16, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Click HERE to reserve your spot.

 


 

 Past Events

MAY 2020

Tres Hermanos Ranch: A History for the Future - VIRTUAL PROGRAM
Sunday, May 3, 2 to 3:30 p.m.
Free.

Photo Preservation Workshop - VIRTUAL PROGRAM
Saturday, May 16, 10 to 11:30 a.m.
Free.

Fiction Book Club - Generations, Session 3 of 3 : "Show Boat" - NEW DATE, VIRTUAL MEETING
Wednesday, May 20, 6 to 8 p.m.
Free. Click HERE to join our mailing list and reserve your spot on Zoom.

Female Justice: The Mysterious Death of J. Belton Kennedy - VIRTUAL PROGRAM
Sunday, May 24, 2 to 3:30 p.m.
Free.

Genealogy Basics Workshop - VIRTUAL PROGRAM
Saturday, May 30, 10 to 11:30 a.m.
Free. 

Friends & Family Picnic & Car Show at the Homestead Museum -POSTPONED. CHECK BACK FOR A NEW DATE.
Sunday, May 31, 1 to 4 p.m.
Free; no reservations needed; traditional picnic setups only.

APRIL 2020

Nonfiction Book Club - American Presidents, Session 3 of 3-CANCELED.
Friday, April 3, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended.

Sycamore Canyon Hike-CANCELED.
Sunday & Monday, April 5 & 6, 9 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended.

Fiction Book Club - Generations, Session 2 of 3 -NEW DATE, VIRTUAL MEETING
Wednesday, April 22, 6 to 8 p.m.
Free; advance registration required. Click HERE to reserve your spot.

Victorian Fair-CANCELED.
Saturday & Sunday, April 25 & 26, 1 to 5 p.m. both days
Free; bring spending money for food & shopping!

Female Justice: Wicked Woolsteen-VIRTUAL PROGRAM
Sunday, April 26, 2 to 3:30 p.m.
Free; advance registration required. 

 

MARCH 2020

(Re)Imagining Mexican Music and Theater in Southern California
Sunday, March 1, at 2 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this program are now closed.

Nonfiction Book Club - American Presidents, Session 2 of 3
Friday, March 6, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. 

Behind-the-Scenes Tours
Saturday & Sunday, March 7 & 8; tours depart at 1, 2, 3, and 4 p.m.
Free; space is limited and available first-come, first-served.

It's All Relative: Researching Family History, Session 1 of 2-CANCELED.
Saturday, March 14, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended.

Fiction Book Club - Generations, Session 2 of 3-POSTPONED. CHECK BACK FOR A NEW DATE.
Wednesday, March 18, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Click HERE to reserve your spot.

Victorian Hat-Making Workshop-CANCELED.
Saturday, March 21, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. OR 2 p.m. to 5 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Please call 626.968.8492 to reserve your spot.

It's All Relative: Researching Family History, Session 2 of 2-CANCELED.
Saturday, March 28, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended.

 

FEBRUARY 2020

Photo Preservation Workshop
Saturday, February 1, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. This workshop is now closed.

Nonfiction Book Club - American Presidents, Session 1 of 3
Friday, February 7, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended.

Flirting with History
Sunday, February 9, 12 to 4 p.m.
Free; traditional picnics welcome.

Fiction Book Club - Generations, Session 1 of 3
Wednesday, February 19, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended. Click HERE to reserve your spot.

 

JANUARY 2020

Behind-the-Scenes Tours
Saturday & Sunday, January 11 & 12; tours depart at 1, 2, 3, and 4 p.m.
Free; space is limited and available first-come, first-served.

Female Justice: Hattie Woolsteen
Sunday, January 26, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.

 

DECEMBER 2019

Christmas Calamities: A Living History Tour
Sunday, December 1; tours depart hourly at 12, 1, 2, 3, and 4 p.m. 
Space is limited; advance registration recommended. 
$6 for adults; $4 for seniors (55+)/students.

Nonfiction Book Club - California and the West: Local, State, & Regional Perspectives, Session 3 of 3 
Friday, December 6, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.

Holiday Merriment
Saturday, December 14, 2 to 6 p.m.
Admission is free.
 
Fiction Book Club - Bestsellers of the 1920s, Session 3 of 3

Wednesday, December 18, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.

 

NOVEMBER 2019

Nonfiction Book Club - California and the West: Local, State, and Regional Perspectives, Session 2 of 3 
Friday, November 1, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended.  Reservations for this event have now ended.

Under the Oak Tree
Saturday, November 2, 10 to 11 a.m. & 12:30 to 1:30 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.

Christmas Unwrapped: The Stories Behind the the Homestead's Holiday Exhibit
Saturday & Sunday, November 16 & 17; tours depart at 1, 2, 3, and 4 p.m. on both days
Free; space is limited and available first-come, first-served.

Fiction Book Club: Best Sellers of the 1920s, Session 2 of 3
Wednesday, November 20, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.

 

OCTOBER 2019

Nonfiction Book Club - California and the West: Local, State, & Regional Perspectives, Session 1 of 3
Friday, October 4, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended.

Ticket to the Twenties
Saturday & Sunday, October 5 & 6, 2 to 6 p.m. both days
Free; bring spending money for food & shopping!

 Fiction Book Club - Bestsellers of the 1920s, Session 1 of 3
Wednesday, October 16, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. 

Female Justice: The Sexual Assault Trial of Alexander Pantages
Sunday, October 20, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended.

 Sorrowful Soirée

Sunday, October 27, 2 to 6 p.m.
Free; traditional picnics welcome.

 

SEPTEMBER 2019

It's All Relative: Researching Family History, Session 1 of 2
Saturday, September 7, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Advance registration is recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.

White Glove Workshop: Photo & Paper Preservation
Saturday, September 14, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Advance registration is recommended. 
$30 for adults; $25 for seniors (55+)/students. Reservations for this event have now ended.

It's All Relative: Researching Family History , Session 2 of 2
Saturday, September 21, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.

 

AUGUST 2019

Nonfiction Book Club - U.S. History: Race, Gender, & Modernity, Session 3 of 3
Friday, August 9, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.
 
Female Justice: The Mysterious Death of J. Belton Kennedy, 1921
Sunday, August 11, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.
  
Fiction Book Club - History Mash Up, Session 3 of 3
Wednesday, August 21, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.

 

JULY 2019

Nonfiction Book Club - U.S. History: Race, Gender, & Modernity, Session 2 of 3
Friday, July 12, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.

Fiction Book Club - History Mash-Up, Session 2 of 3
Wednesday, July 17, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.

Portola Hike and Panel Discussion Sunday, July 28, 8 to 10 a.m. and 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.

 

 

JUNE 2019

Nonfiction Book Club - U.S. History: Race, Gender, & Modernity, Session 1 of 3
Friday, June 7, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.
 
White Glove Workshop: The Basics of Textile Conservation
Saturday, June 8, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Advance registration is recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.
$30 for adults; $25 for seniors (55+)/students. 

Fiction Book Club - History Mash-Up, Session 1 of 3
Wednesday, June 19, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.

 

MAY 2019

Female Justice: The Seduction Case of Lillian Ashley, 1896
Sunday, May 5, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.
 
Behind-the-Scenes Tours
Saturday & Sunday, May 18 & 19; tours depart at 1, 2, 3, and 4 p.m.
Free; space is limited and available first-come, first-served.
 
Sunday Picnic - Family Ties
Sunday, May 26, 12 to 4 p.m.
Free; no reservations needed; traditional picnic setups only.

 

APRIL 2019

Nonfiction Book Club - Women: Politics, Religion, & Vocation, Session 3 of 3 
Friday, April 5, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.
 
Leathercraft Workshop
Saturday, April 6, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Advance registration is recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended. 
$30 for adults; $25 for seniors (55+)/students

 Fiction Book Club - The Birth of Noir, Session 3 of 3
Wednesday, April 17, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.

 Victorian Fair of the Far West
Saturday & Sunday, April 27 & 28, 1 to 5 p.m. both days
Free; bring spending money for food & shopping!

 

MARCH 2019

Nonfiction Book Club - Women: Politics, Religion, & Vocation, Session 2 of 3 
Friday, March 1, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.

 Behind-the-Scenes Tours
Saturday & Sunday, March 9 & 10; tours depart at 1, 2, 3, and 4 p.m.
Free; space is limited and available first-come, first-served.

 History, Open Space, and Resiliency in the East San Gabriel Valley
Saturday, March 9; 1 to 4 p.m.
Free

 It's All Relative: Researching Family History, Session 1 of 2
Saturday, March 16, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended. 
 
Fiction Book Club - The Birth of Noir, Session 2 of 3
Wednesday, March 20, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended.

 Victorian Fan-Making Workshop
Saturday, March 23, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Advance registration is recommended. 
$30 for adults; $25 for seniors (55+)/students

 It's All Relative: Researching Family History, Session 2 of 2
Saturday, March 30, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.

 

FEBRUARY 2019

Nonfiction Book Club - Women: Politics, Religion, & Vocation, Session 1 of 3
Friday, February 1, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.
 
White Glove Workshop: Photo & Paper Preservation
Saturday, February 2, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Advance registration is recommended.
$30 for adults; $25 for seniors (55+)/students

Flirting with History
Sunday, February 10, 12 to 4 p.m.
Free; picnics welcome.
 
Fiction Book Club - The Birth of Noir, Session 1 of 3
Wednesday, February 20, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.

 

JANUARY 2019

Behind-the-Scenes Tours
Saturday & Sunday, January 12 & 13; tours depart at 1, 2, 3, and 4 p.m.
Free; space is limited and available first-come, first-served.
 
Female Justice: The Murder Trial of Lastenia Abarta, 1881
Sunday, January 27, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free; advance registration recommended. Reservations for this event have now ended.

 

New Website Events Banner 2