Calendar of Events

 

2017
 

APRIL

 

Spring Maker Days 
Wednesday, Thursday, & Friday, April 5, 6, & 7, 12:30 to 4 p.m.
Free; all ages welcome

 

History Book Club: World War I Series, Session 3 of 3 
Friday, April 7, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended and can be made starting December 23

 

Grappling with the Great War - Greg Fischer presents La Plaza Abaja: 
The Evolution of Pershing Square

Sunday, April 9, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended. Reservations are now closed.

 

Ladies Victorian Hat Trimming Workshop  
Saturday, April 22, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Second workshop added from 2-6 p.m.
$40 for adults; $35 for seniors and students; Reservations are now closed.

 

Victorian Fair 
Saturday & Sunday, April 29 & 30, from 1 to 5 p.m. both days
Free, but bring spending money for food and shopping

 

MAY

 

Curious Cases - Marshals, Malfeasance, and Murder, 1853-1858
Sunday, May 7, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free; reservations are recommended. Click here to reserve tickets.

 

Proposin'- A One-Act Comedy
Saturday, May 13, 2 & 4 p.m.
$10 for adults; $8 for seniors/students
Space is limited and reservations are recommended. Click here to reserve tickets.

 

Behind-the-Scenes Tours 
Saturday & Sunday, May 20 & 21, 1, 2, 3, & 4 p.m.
Free; space is limited and available first-come, first-served

 

Sunday Picnic
Sunday, May 28, 12 to 4 p.m.
Free; no reservation required. Traditional picnic setups only.

 

JUNE

 

History Book Club: Crime Series, Session 1 of 3
Friday, June 2, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended starting April 21

 

Victoriana Crochet Workshop 
Saturday, June 3, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
$30 for adults; $25 for seniors and students
Space is limited and reservations are recommended. Click here to reserve tickets.

 

White Glove Workshop: Custom-Made Enclosures 
Saturday, June 10, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
$30 for adults; $25 for seniors and students
Advance registration is recommended. Click here to reserve tickets.

 

Sunday Picnic 
Sunday, June 25, 12 to 4 p.m.
Free; no reservation required. Traditional picnic setups only.

 

JULY

 

Summer Maker Days
Every Wednesday, Thursday of July, 12:30 to 4 p.m.
Free; all ages welcome

 

History Book Club: Crime Series, Session 2 of 3 
Friday, July 7, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended and can be made starting April 21

 

Grappling with the Great War - Edmon J. Rodman & Paul Spitzzeri present  
Searching for Sergeant Kauffman

Sunday, July 9, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free; reservations are recommended and can be made starting May 26

 

Sunday Picnic
Sunday, July 30, 12:00 to 4:00 p.m. 
Free; no reservation required. Traditional picnic setups only.

 

AUGUST

 

History Book Club: Crime Series, Session 3 of 3 
Friday, August 4, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended and can be made starting April 21

 

Curious Cases - More Questions than Answers: The Murder of John Rains, 1862
Sunday, August 13, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free; reservations are recommended and can be made starting June 30

 

Sunday Picnic 
Sunday, August 27, 12 to 4 p.m.
Free; no reservation required. Traditional picnic setups only.

 

SEPTEMBER

 

Chile Roasting Workshop 
Saturday, September 2, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
$25 for adults; $20 for seniors & students
Advance registration is recommended and can be made starting July 21

 

It's All Relative: Researching Family History - Workshop 1 of 2 
Saturday, September 9, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
For both sessions: $25 for adults; $20 for seniors & students
Advance registration is recommended and can be made starting July 21

 

It's All Relative: Researching Family History - Workshop 2 of 2 
Saturday, September 23, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
$25 for adults; $20 for seniors & students
Advance registration is recommended starting July 21

 

Sunday Picnic 
Sunday, September 24, 12 to 4 p.m.
Free; no reservations required. Traditional picnic setups only.

 

OCTOBER

 

History Book Club: Vital California Agriculture Series, Session 1 of 3
Friday, October 6, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended and can be made starting August 25

 

Ticket to the Twenties Festival 
Saturday & Sunday, October 7 & 8, from 3 to 7 p.m. both days
Free, but bring spending money for food and shopping

 

Curious Cases - Hero or Common Criminal: The Tale of Tiburcio Vasquez, 1852-1875
Sunday, October 22, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free, reservations are recommended and can be made starting September 8

 

Beyond the Grave Tours
Sunday, October 29, at 12, 1, 2, 3, and 4 p.m.
$6 for adults; $4 for seniors, students, & children (age 2 and under are free)
Reservations are recommended and can be made starting September 8

 

NOVEMBER

 

History Book Club: Vital California Agriculture Series, Session 2 of 3
Friday, November 3, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended and can be made starting August 25

 

Under the Oak Tree: Exploring Nature with the Kizh 
Saturday, November 4, 10 to 11 a.m. AND 12:30 to 1:30 p.m.
Free; reservations are recommended and can be made starting starting September 22

 

Grappling with the Great War - Dr. Jennifer D. Keene presents  
Wristwatches, Intelligence Tests, and Hemingway: The Cultural Impact of
World War I on America

Sunday, November 5, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free; reservations are recommended and can be made starting September 22

 

Behind-the-Scenes Tours 
Saturday & Sunday, November 18 & 19, at 1, 2, 3, & 4 p.m.
Free; space is limited and available first-come, first-served

 
 

 

DECEMBER

 

History Book Club: Vital California Agriculture Series, Session 3 of 3
Friday, December 1, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended and can be made starting August 25

 

 


 

Past Events

 

          JANUARY

 

Behind-the-Scenes Tours  
Saturday & Sunday, January 14 & 15, at 1, 2, 3, & 4 p.m.
Free; space is limited and available first-come, first-served

 

Curious Cases - Sole Suspect: The Murder of General Joshua Bean, 1852 
Sunday, January 29, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free; reservations are recommended. Reservations are now closed.

 

FEBRUARY

 

History Book Club: World War I Series, Session 1 of 3 
Friday, February 3, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. 
Advance registration is recommended and can be made starting December 23

 

White Glove Workshop: Basic Textile Cleaning 
Saturday, February 4, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
$30 for adults; $25 for seniors & students
Advance registration is recommended. Reservations are now closed.

 

Calligraphy Workshop
Saturday, February 11, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. 
$30 for adults; $25 for seniors & students
Advance registration is recommended. Reservations are now closed.

 

It's All Relative: Researching Family History - Workshop 1 of 2 
Saturday, February 18, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
For both sessions: $25 for adults; $20 for seniors & students
Advance registration is recommended. Reservations are now closed.

 

MARCH

 

History Book Club: World War I Series, Session 2 of 3 
Friday, March 3, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended and can be made starting December 23

 

It's All Relative: Researching Family History - Workshop 2 of 2  
Saturday, March 4, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
For both sessions: $25 for adults; $20 for seniors & students
Advance registration is recommended. Reservations are now closed.

 

Behind-the-Scenes Tours 
Saturday & Sunday, March 11 & 12, at 1, 2, 3, & 4 p.m.
Free; space is limited and available first-come, first-served

 

Take a Detour From Route 66: Taos to LA
Children's Poetry Workshop @ the Homestead Museum

Saturday, March 25, 10 to 11 a.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended. Reservations are now closed. 

 

Take a Detour From Route 66: Taos to LA @ the Homestead Museum
Saturday, March 25, 2 to 5 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended. Reservations are now closed.

 

Take a Detour From Route 66: Taos to LA @ the Rowland House
Sunday, March 26, 2 to 4 p.m.

Free; advance registration is recommended. Reservations are now closed.