Calendar of Events

 

2017

 

NOVEMBER

 

Behind-the-Scenes Tours: Holiday Edition 
Saturday & Sunday, November 18 & 19, at 1, 2, 3, & 4 p.m.
Free; space is limited and available first-come, first-served

 
 

 

DECEMBER

 

History Book Club: Vital California Agriculture Series, Session 3 of 3
Friday, December 1, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended 

 

Holiday Maker Days 
Saturdays, December 2, 16, 23, & 30 & Sunday, December 17, 12 to 4 p.m. each day 
Make crafts inspired by our museum's collection and Christmases past in the Homestead Gallery.
Free; all ages welcome

 

Christmas Calamities: A Living History Tour
Sunday, December 3, Tours depart hourly from 12 to 5 p.m.
$6 for adults; $4 for seniors, students, & children (age 2 and under are free)
Sing, dance, decorate, or cheer on fellow visitors as you immerse yourself in a recreated 1920s Christmas pageant. Enjoy crafts, fresh donuts, and cider before joining costumed characters inside La Casa Nueva, the Temple family's festively decorated home.

Reservations are recommended. Click here to reserve your spot.

 

A Weekend of Holiday Merriment 
Saturday & Sunday, December 9 & 10
, 12 to 4 p.m.
Free; no reservations required
How did holiday celebrations in Los Angeles change from the days of the Mexican ranchos through the 1920s? See for yourself as you tour our decorated historic houses. Enjoy crafts, music, visiting with Santa Claus, and more! Free; picnics welcome

 

 


 

2018

 

          JANUARY

 

Behind-the-Scenes Tours  
Saturday & Sunday, January 13 & 14, at 1, 2, 3, & 4 p.m.
Free; space is limited and available first-come, first-served

 

Wine Program - Details TBA
Saturday, January 20, 1:30 to 3:30 p.m.
Advance registration is recommended.

 

Curious Cases - Vigilantes and Vengeance: The Alvitre Family and Community Justice, 1853, 1861
Sunday, January 28, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free; reservations are recommended. 

 

FEBRUARY

 

Nonfiction Book Club - Nineteenth-Century America in Broad Brush, Session 1 of 3
Friday, February 2, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. 
Free; advance registration is recommended. 

 

White Glove Workshop
Saturday, February 3, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Advance registration is recommended.

 

Wine Program- Details TBA
Saturday, February 10, 1:30 to 3:30 p.m.
Advance registration is recommended.

 

Flirting with History
Sunday, February 11, 12 to 4 p.m. 
Free; no reservation required. Traditional picnic setups only.

 

NEW! Fiction Book Club - Hollywood in the Era of Silent Films, Session 1 of 3
Wednesday, February 21, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended. 

 

MARCH

 

Nonfiction Book Club - Nineteenth-Century America in Broad Brush, Session 2 of 3
Friday, March 2, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended.

 

Behind-the-Scenes Tours 
Saturday & Sunday, March 10 & 11, at 1, 2, 3, & 4 p.m.
Free; space is limited and available first-come, first-served

 

NEW! Fiction Book Club - Hollywood in the Era of Silent Films, Session 2 of 3
Wednesday, March 21
, 7 to 9 p.m.

Free; advance registration is recommended.

 

Chile Workshop: Rancho Era
Saturday, March 24
, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Advance registration recommended.

 

 

APRIL

 

Spring Maker Days 
Wed-Sat., March 28-31 & April 4-7, 12:30 to 4 p.m.
Free; all ages welcome

 

Nonfiction Book Club - Nineteenth-Century America in Broad Brush, Session 3 of 3
Friday, April 6, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended.

 

NEW! Fiction Book Club - Hollywood in the Era of Silent Films, Session 3 of 3
Wednesday, April 18
, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended.

 

Ribbon Flower Workshop
Saturday, April 21, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Advance registration is recommended.

 

Victorian Fair 
Saturday & Sunday, April 28 & 29, from 1 to 5 p.m. both days
Free, but bring spending money for food and shopping.

 

MAY

 

Curious Cases - “Hang Kewen: He’s the Head of the Firm”: Lawyers of Los Angeles, 1850-1875
Sunday, May 6, 2 to 4 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended.

 

Behind-the-Scenes Tours 
Saturday & Sunday, May 19 & 20, 1, 2, 3, & 4 p.m.
Free; space is limited and available first-come, first-served

 

Homestead Picnic
Sunday, May 27, 12 to 4 p.m.
Free; no reservation required. Traditional picnic setups only.

 

JUNE

 

Nonfiction Book Club - California’s Nineteenth-Century Economy: The Big Picture, Session 1 of 3
Friday, June 8, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended.

 

White Glove Workshop
Saturday, June 9, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Advance registration is recommended.

 

Chile Workshop: Chili
Saturday, June 16, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Advance registration is recommended.
 

Fiction Book Club
Wednesday, June 20, 7 to 9 p.m.
Free; advance registration is recommended.